Skip to main content

Performance Management: Adding and Removing Members

How to add users from your organization to Flo Performance Management

Written by Kaylee Welling

Adding Members

In order to set up a cycle, first add the employees of your organization to your Flo Performance Management account. Doing this will allow you, as an admin, to assign their evaluations.

To add users to your organization:

  1. Go to the "My Organization" tab to the right of "Review Cycles"

  2. Click "Add User" to add manually or in bulk via CSV upload

Things to note:

  • Admins have full access, meaning they can see all aspects of the platform including evaluations and assignments

  • Members only see items they’re assigned to

Adding Manually

To add users manually, you will need to add the user's email, admin status, as well as first and last name. Optionally, add in the remaining fields and click "Add User".

When adding members manually, this pop-up message will appear if that user already exists in your Flo Recruitment account:

Click "Import User" to expand their access to Performance Management.

Bulk Upload

To Bulk Upload users, download the User CSV Template and fill it out with your users' information according to the headers. Then, upload it to the system:

The required fields are:

  • Name

  • Email

  • Admin status

Note: CSV templates are dynamically generated based on your organization’s settings. This means you’ll only see the columns that are actually relevant to your setup—no extra fields to worry about.

What this looks like:

  • If your organization uses SSO where the ID matches the user’s email, the SSO ID column will be removed

  • If MFA isn’t enabled, the Use MFA column will not appear

  • Columns like Department, Law School, and Office Location will now include example values based on your actual organization setup (instead of generic placeholders)

This should make uploads faster, cleaner, and easier to complete!

Bulk Update

Need to make changes? You may also use the Bulk Upload function to update your existing members.

You can use the same Bulk CSV upload feature on the User List page to update existing users. Existing users are matched to their email address, so the updated upload will preserve existing data, and update only what has changed.

To make bulk updates:

  1. Click "Add User" then "Bulk Upload CSV"

2. Download the User CSV

3. In the template, fill in the names and email addresses of the members who need to be updated, then edit any cells that need to be changed.

4. Upload the Employee CSV

Key updates include:

  • Update existing users: If a user with a matching email already exists, their information can be updated through the CSV upload.

  • Leaving a column out of your file preserves that field for everyone in the upload. Leaving a cell blank under a column erases whatever was there. To update only job titles for example, delete every other column from the template before uploading.

  • Improved SSO admin provisioning: For organizations using SSO, users promoted to admin through a CSV upload will now be correctly configured for SSO access automatically, eliminating the need for manual intervention.

First Name, Last Name, and Email remain required columns.

Bulk Remove

To remove users through a bulk upload:

  1. Navigate to your User List.

  2. Select the option to bulk upload users.

  3. Upload your updated CSV file.

  4. Flo will compare the users included in your CSV with your current User List.

  5. If users from your current User List are missing from the uploaded file, Flo will display the number and names of the missing users.

  6. Review the list before continuing. You can:

    • Continue with the upload.

    • Cancel the upload to review or update your CSV.

    • Add users manually if someone was unintentionally left out.

  7. If you continue, Flo will ask you to confirm what should happen to the missing users. Choose to either remove their access or keep the users.

  8. Complete the upload.

Once complete, Flo will confirm how many users were created, updated, and removed.

Things to Know

  • Removing a user through the bulk upload revokes that user's access to the product.

  • Flo identifies potential removals by comparing the uploaded CSV with your existing User List.

  • Users are not automatically removed simply because they're missing from your CSV. You'll see the affected users by name and be asked to confirm before their access is removed.

  • If your CSV is incomplete, you can choose Save and keep users to complete your other updates without removing the missing users.

This allows you to use the same bulk upload process to add, update, and remove users while providing an additional confirmation step before anyone's access is revoked.


Emails

Depending on how a member is added and the access they are given, they may receive an email inviting them to access Flo.

  • New members: New members will receive an email even if they already have a Flo login for another organization. Flo accounts are organization-specific.

  • Existing members promoted to admin: If an existing member is promoted to an admin, they will receive an email only if they have not previously created a password.

  • Members given Perform access: Existing members who are given Perform access will receive an email when they become a login user. This also applies when members are added through the CSV import. If a member has both Recruit and Perform access, they can still receive the email.

New users will see an email that mirrors this:

Note: If you are an SSO organization, admins will get the email but non-admins will not.


Levels

Levels are a managed dropdown field instead of a free-text input field. You can configure the firm's seniority hierarchy as a structured, ordered list from a new Settings page.

First navigate to the 'Levels' tab and select '+New Level':

This will open a text box where you may enter the level name and save:

If you have multiple levels, you may drag and drop using the grid next to each name to set the order you'd like:

These will appear in order on the levels page:

You may use these levels later in the review cycle to control reviewer eligibility.


Did this answer your question?